What Is WEC?

Aspire2 was established through the efforts of headteachers and governors in the 10 South Reading schools, which form the “Whitley Excellence Cluster” (WEC). Originally WEC received funding directly from the Department of Education as part of the national Excellence in Cities initiative.  When funding for the cluster ended in March 2011, local parents started a pressure group “Save WEC”, which fought to keep the activities and projects running for the children and families in the area.

Aspire2 is working with these parents to harness that energy and enthusiasm and channel it into improving the lives of Whitley families.  We are very excited about the future and the real enthusiasm that our community has for keeping the activities running that have made such a difference to our children:

Feedback from a year 10 pupil following an Easter Break at Ufton Court:
'I should not be scared to try new things and get to know new people and to be able to talk to them and to tell them the right thing to do'

The Whitley Excellence Cluster of schools includes:
Reading Girls School, The John Madejski Academy, Geoffrey Field Junior School, Geoffrey Field Infant School, Chris the King Primary School, Whitley Park Primary and Nursery School, The Ridgeway Primary School, New Christ Church Primary School and Blagdon Nursery and Children's Centre.


martin salter wec